New Zealand's State sector - the organisations

Last updated: 2 February 2015

SSC maintains an up to date list on this page of all the organisations of the State sector.

Public Service


Business, Innovation, and Employment, Ministry of
Conservation, Department of
Corrections, Department of
Crown Law Office
Culture and Heritage, Ministry for
Defence, Ministry of
Education, Ministry of
Education Review Office
Environment, Ministry for the
Foreign Affairs and Trade, Ministry of
Government Communications Security Bureau
Health, Ministry of
Inland Revenue Department
Internal Affairs, Department of
Justice, Ministry of
Land Information New Zealand
Māori Development, Ministry of
New Zealand Customs Service
Pacific Island Affairs, Ministry of
Primary Industries, Ministry for
Prime Minister and Cabinet, Department of the
Serious Fraud Office
Social Development, Ministry of
State Services Commission
Statistics New Zealand
Transport, Ministry of
Treasury, The
Women's Affairs, Ministry of

Departmental agencies

Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority (CERA)  (Hosted by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet)

Non-Public Service departments

In the State Services

New Zealand Defence Force
New Zealand Police
New Zealand Security Intelligence Service
Parliamentary Counsel Office

In the wider State sector

Office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives
Parliamentary Service

Crown entities

In the State Services

Statutory entities


Accident Compensation Corporation
Callaghan Innovation
Careers New Zealand
Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand
District Health Boards

-           Auckland
-           Bay of Plenty
-           Canterbury     
-           Capital & Coast
-           Counties-Manukau
-           Hawke's Bay
-           Hutt Valley
-           Lakes
-           MidCentral
-           Nelson-Marlborough
-           Northland
-           South Canterbury
-           Southern
-           Tairawhiti
-           Taranaki
-           Waikato
-           Wairarapa
-           Waitemata
-           West Coast
-           Whanganui

Earthquake Commission
Education New Zealand
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
Environmental Protection Authority
Health Promotion Agency
Health Quality and Safety Commission
Health Research Council of New Zealand
Housing New Zealand Corporation
Maritime New Zealand
New Zealand Antarctic Institute
New Zealand Blood Service
New Zealand Fire Service Commission
New Zealand Qualifications Authority
New Zealand Tourism Board
New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
New Zealand Transport Agency
New Zealand Walking Access Commission
Pharmaceutical Management Agency
Real Estate Agents Authority
Social Workers Registration Board
Sport and Recreation New Zealand
Tertiary Education Commission
WorkSafe New Zealand


Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa
Broadcasting Commission
Families Commission
Government Superannuation Fund Authority
Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation
Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
New Zealand Artificial Limb Service
New Zealand Film Commission
New Zealand Lotteries Commission
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
New Zealand Teachers Council
Public Trust
Retirement Commissioner
Standards Council
Te Reo Whakapuaki Irirangi (Maori Broadcasting Funding Agency)
Te Taura Whiri I Te Reo Māori (Māori Language Commission)
Testing Laboratory Registration Council


Broadcasting Standards Authority
Children's Commissioner
Commerce Commission
Drug Free Sport New Zealand
Electoral Commission
Electricity Authority
External Reporting Board
Financial Markets Authority
Health and Disability Commissioner
Human Rights Commission
Independent Police Conduct Authority
Law Commission
New Zealand Productivity Commission
Office of Film and Literature Classification
Privacy Commissioner
Takeovers Panel
Transport Accident Investigation Commission 

Crown entity companies

Crown Research Institutes (CRIs)

            -           AgResearch Limited
            -           Institute of Environmental Science and Research Limited
            -           Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Limited
            -           Landcare Research New Zealand Limited
            -           National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research Limited
            -           New Zealand Forest Research Institute Limited
            -           New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research Limited, The

Crown Irrigation Investments Limited
New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Limited
Radio New Zealand Limited
Television New Zealand Limited

Crown entity subsidiaries

School Boards of Trustees

In the wider State sector

Tertiary education institutions


-           Auckland University of Technology
-           Lincoln University
-           Massey University
-           University of Auckland
-           University of Canterbury
-           University of Otago
-           University of Waikato
-           Victoria University of Wellington 


-           Aoraki Polytechnic (Timaru)
-           Bay of Plenty Polytechnic (Tauranga)
-           Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology (Christchurch)
-           Eastern Institute of Technology (Taradale)
-           Manukau Institute of Technology (Manukau City)
-           Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (Nelson)
-           Northland Polytechnic (Whangarei)
-           Open Polytechnic of New Zealand (Lower Hutt)
-           Otago Polytechnic (Dunedin)
-           Southern Institute of Technology (Invercargill)
-           Tai Poutini Polytechnic (Greymouth)
-           Universal College of Learning (Palmerston North)
-           Unitec Institute of Technology (Auckland)
-           Waiariki Institute of Technology (Rotorua)
-           Waikato Institute of Technology (Hamilton)
-           Wellington Institute of Technology (Petone)
-           Western Institute of Technology (New Plymouth)
-           Whitireia Community Polytechnic (Porirua)


-           Te Wananga o Aotearoa (Te Awamutu)
-           Te Wananga o Raukawa (Otaki)
-           Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi (Whakatane)

Public Finance Act Fourth Schedule Organisations

Agricultural and Marketing Research and Development Trust
Asia New Zealand Foundation
Fish and Game Councils - Regional (12)
Game Animal Council
Leadership Development Centre Trust
Māori Trustee, the
National Pacific Radio Trust
New Zealand Fish and Game Council
New Zealand Game Bird Habitat Trust Board
New Zealand Government Property Corporation
New Zealand Lottery Grants Board
Ngai Tahu Ancillary Claims Trust
Pacific Co-operation Foundation
Pacific Island Business Development Trust
Reserves Boards (22)
Road Safety Trust (struck off)
Te Ariki Trust

Public Finance Act Schedule 4A Companies

Crown Asset Management Limited
Crown Fibre Holdings Limited
Education Payroll Limited
Fairway Resolution Limited
Health Benefits Limited
Network for Learning Limited, The
Research and Education Advanced Network New Zealand Limited
Southern Response Earthquake Services Limited
Tamaki Redevelopment Company Limited

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

(a stand alone agency within the State Services that does not fall under any State Services category)

Offices of Parliament 

The Controller and Auditor-General
Office of the Ombudsmen
The Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment

State-owned enterprises

Airways Corporation of New Zealand Limited
Animal Control Products Limited
AsureQuality Ltd
Electricity Corporation of New Zealand Limited
KiwiRail Holdings Limited
Kordia Group Limited
Landcorp Farming Limited
Learning Media Limited (in liquidation)
Meteorological Service of New Zealand Ltd
New Zealand Post Limited
New Zealand Railways Corporation
Quotable Value Limited
Solid Energy New Zealand Limited
Terralink NZ Limited (struck off)
Transpower New Zealand Limited

Mixed Ownership Model companies

Genesis Energy Limited
Meridian Energy Limited
Mighty River Power Limited